State & National Elections is now State & National Politics. Please subscribe, read, and follow!
If link doesn't work: http://statenationalpolitics.blogspot.com/

A government big enough to give you everything you want, is strong enough to take everything you have! - Thomas Jefferson

Tuesday, January 1, 2008


Mo-Joe ’08 Draws Crowds, Support, Endorsements for Joe Biden In Homestretch To Caucus Night

Des Moines, IA (January 1, 2008) – Sen. Joe Biden today received the endorsement of a number of prominent local and Democratic Party officials in Iowa who will join the Biden for President Iowa Steering Committee. The committee is instrumental in organizing local support across Iowa on caucus night. Local and Democratic Party officials including Black Hawk County Supervisor Tom Little, Co-Chair of the 4th Congressional District for the Iowa Democratic Party Linda Vaudt, Linn County Democratic Party Chair Mike Robinson, Osceola Mayor Fred Diehl, Elkader Mayor Bob Garm, Louisa County Supervisor Frank Jamison, Keystone Mayor Mark Andresen, Howard County Democratic Party Vice-Chair Lauren Meritt, and Clayton County Democratic Party Secretary Raymond Stassen, all announced their support today, again demonstrating the momentum building behind Sen. Biden over the final days of the race in Iowa.

“The media have the ‘first tier’ and the ‘second-tier’ backwards,” said Louisa County Supervisor Frank Jamison. “Joe Biden has the most experience of anyone in the field. And his values are my values.”

Mayor Fred Diehl, a former small-business owner serving his 6th term as Mayor of Osceola added, “The thing I’m most concerned about is restoring the middle class. Today, American industries are moving outside the United States and Sen. Biden has the foreign policy experience to take hold right away when he first steps foot in the Oval Office.”

Sen. Biden said, “I am proud to have earned the backing of leaders in Iowa who share my concern for restoring our place in the world and protecting the middle class. Grassroots organizing by strong local leaders is what’s going to make the difference on caucus night, and with their help I am confident I am going turn this race upside down.”

The newest members of the Biden for President Statewide Steering Committee join an impressive roster of over 50 other local leaders from across the Hawkeye State. To date, 16 state legislators—and a majority of the House Democratic leadership—have endorsed Senator Biden, including State Sen. Joe Seng (Davenport), House Majority Leader Rep. Kevin McCarthy (Des Moines), Speaker Pro Tempore Rep. Polly Butka (Clinton), Rep. John Whitaker (Hillsboro), Rep. Doris Kelley (Waterloo), Rep. Lisa Heddens (Ames), Rep. Jim Lykam (Davenport), Rep. Mike Reasoner (Creston), Rep. Dick Taylor (Cedar Rapids), Rep. Roger Thomas (Elkader), Rep. McKinley Bailey (Webster City), State Senator Herman C. Quirmbach (Ames), Rep. Mary Gaskill (Ottumwa), Rep. Bruce Hunter (Des Moines), Rep. Eric Palmer (Oskaloosa), and Rep. Dennis Cohoon (Burlington).

No comments: